What Are The Different Classifications Or Levels Of Theft Charges In Ohio?
Most theft charges are misdemeanors, especially if the value of the stolen property is less than $1,000. These type of misdemeanors may result in a fine up to $1,000 and up to 180 days in jail. If the value of the stolen property is more than $1,000 but less than $75,000, it’s a felony of the fifth degree. If it’s more than $75,000 but less than $150,000, then it’s a felony of the fourth degree, $150,000 to $750,000, it’s a felony of the third degree, $750,000 to $1.5 million is a felony of the second degree, and anything over $1.5 million is considered a felony of the first degree.
What Is The Effect Of Prior Theft Convictions On Current Theft Charges in Ohio?
There are no enhancements to theft offenses, so prior theft convictions do not enhance your charge. However, past theft convictions definitely increase the odds that your penalties will be more severe.
Are There Alternative Sentencing Programs Available For First Time Theft Offenders In Ohio?
Yes, there is a diversion program for first-time theft offenders. Usually, this program will be offered as long as the victim approves of it and restitution is paid. These programs can last anywhere from 6 months to a year.
For more information on Theft Charges In The State Of Ohio, a free initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (513) 964-4505 today.
Call For A Free Consultation